In the Dust

The ground they throw me on is hard and cold. But it’s welcoming compared to the people that dragged me here. They are angry… and rightfully so. I cower in the dust, cringing at their disgusted tones.
“You’ve messed up… Again!” one voice proclaims.
“You make the same mistakes over and over and over!” another one says.
I shudder as I see them reaching for the stones at their feet. Eager fingers claw at evidence to hurl at me.
“You’ll never learn …”
“Ugly!”
“Selfish…”
“Worthless.”
The muddled words hurt as much as the rocks will. I flinch as the weight of their condemnations falls on me. I cover my face with my hands in shame and horror.
More voices join, their tones distorted with hatred.  Voices that I recognize… voices of people who were supposed to be on my team… voices that now fling the most chilling accusations of all.
“You’ll never change…”
“Failure!”
“You’re a hopeless case!”
“Nobody likes you anymore.”
“You’re not good enough,” they hiss.
The curses keep raining down on me. I’m sobbing now, but they don’t see. Or they simply don’t care. They just keep listing all my sins, my mistakes, my shortcomings. They say that’s who I am and who I will always be. And I believe them.
But then…
But then suddenly their voices fade. Even through my gut-wrenching sobs, I hear another voice speak. A firm but beautiful voice. Then I hear stones dropping back down to the ground, down to where they lay before.
I take a deep breath and peek out between my fingers and I see the owner of the voice. He kneels on the ground, inside of the perimeter of disturbed stones clawed up from the dirt. His finger traces words in the dust. He keeps writing while I watch through my fingers. I wonder what he’s writing; it’s a long list by now.
Feeling a little braver, I slowly let my hands fall to my lap.
He looks at me and smiles. He finishes writing one last word and stands. “Come here,” he says, reaching out a hand to help me get to my feet.
I stumble to his side and read the words he wrote in the dust.

Beautiful                            Psalm 45:11

Unique                               Psalm 139:13

Loved                                Jeremiah 31:3

Special                               Ephesians 2:10

Created for a Purpose         Jeremiah 29:11

Cared for                            Ephesians 3:17-19

Lovely                                Daniel 12:3

Precious                             1 Corinthians 6:20

Important                            1 Peter 2:9

Forgiven                             Psalm 103:12

A New Creation                  2 Corinthians 5:17

Protected                           Psalm 121:3

Empowered                        Philippians 4:13

Chosen                              John 5:16

YOU ARE MINE                 Isaiah 43:1

He puts his arm around me and points to the words. “That is who you are, my daughter.”
I shake my head as tears spring to my eyes. It’s not! I am not like that. I have messed up too many times.
Then I tilt my tear-stained face to look up into his. There are tears in his eyes too. And love. Love of an incomprehensible magnitude.
And it hits me. The beautiful words he wrote don’t describe me because of who I am or because of what I did or didn’t do. I am what they tell me I am because of who he is.
The faces of my criticizers, their rocks, and their condemnations fade into oblivion as I throw myself into his arms. “Abba Father!”

John 8:1-11

List of Who I Am taken from Pinterest

Leave a Reply

