Resolutions???

Happy-New-Year-2016-Images-pictures-wallpapers-2Yes. It’s a typical New Year post.

And yes, I’m well aware of the fact that I’m almost a week late. But I often choose to live by the old adage ‘better late than never’. ūüôā

Anyway, at one of my Christmas gatherings this season,¬†we¬†started talking about resolutions. One of my cousins had a fabulous idea which I want to try this year. I’ll tell you about it in a bit.

See, if you’re like most people, you made resolutions last year. Maybe one, maybe more. I made one last year. ¬†In an online poll I conducted, I found that most people who do make resolutions make several.

My poll included the question: If you made resolutions last year, did you accomplish what you wanted? The results probably should’ve shocked me more than they did. Close to ninety¬†percent of the people I polled said they didn’t get it done. That’s kinda sad, but I have to admit I fall into the same category as the 88%. I only accomplished a measly 23% of my goal. ūüėõ

So…. back to our Christmas gathering conversation. We were talking about how a year is a terribly long time to work on one thing. So we wondered why not break up the year into smaller fragments? Why not make¬†monthly¬†resolutions? That’d be easier to track, right?

Then my cousin mentioned something she’d read. Instead of choosing a resolution like losing weight, learning a new skill, etc, why not focus on a particular word for a year.

Now putting these two ideas together, I came up with my type of ‘resolution’. I intend to think of a word to focus on for a month, then write about my experience here. So in a way, I guess it’s a yearly resolution broken into twelve manageable pieces.

January’s word is….

GRATITUDE  

By the end of this month or early February, I aim to write a post about my findings on the word.

What are you doing about New Year? Resolutions or no resolutions?

 

Leave a Reply

