Encouragement

 

2016-04-27 14.47.59.jpgWhy is so hard to encourage others? Why is it easier to criticize than to build others up?

I don’t know.

But I do know that our world needs more encouragers; there’s more than enough critics already. This month as I focused on encouragement, I realized repeatedly the power of words.

Encouragements don’t always come in lengthy epistles of grammatically-correct, forethought compliments. In fact, as I look back over my life, I see that the little things made the biggest difference.

Little things like a little note my mom stuck in my lunchbox months ago.Just four little sentences on a little piece of paper torn from a lined notebook.  It’s still up on my desk at work.

Little things like a Facebook message from a friend, saying they appreciate something I did. It might just be a sentence or two, but you better believe I’ll try to do the same job as well next time… and maybe even better.

Little things like a friend’s prayers on a day I have something particularly hard ahead of me.

Little things like a stranger complimenting my artwork.

Little things like an “I miss you” from a friend in another country.

Little things like an approving smile on the face of something I love.

None of the things I mentioned took the encourager more than two minutes. In fact, most of them are probably <30 second stuff. But they mean a lot to me. I imagine you know what I’m referring to. Words like “You can do it”, “You did an awesome job with that”, and “I’ll be praying you today!” can make a world of difference in people’s lives.

Because of a simple sentence you speak, a buddy might decide not to give up just yet. Because of a text you send, a smile might light up a family member’s face. Because of a sappy little  quote, your friend might not cry herself to sleep tonight. Because of a Bible verse you share, a classmate might realize that they do have at least one friend left. Because of an encouragement you scribble on a Post-It note, someone might have a better day. They might stand a little taller, walk with a little more purpose in their step, and be inspired to pass on your encouragement to someone else.

It’s really not that hard. I mean, sometimes it feels hard, but it’s worth it. Life is hard enough without an endless parade of critics. Let’s be encouragers instead, speaking life on this journey called life.

May’s word… TBD. Shoot me some ideas! 🙂

P.S. I appreciate all of you. When I look at my stats and see people from multiple countries and continents on my readers list, it just warms my heart to know that you are taking time to read my ramblings! Be blessed!

 

4 thoughts on “Encouragement

Leave a Reply

