Things that make me happy

Things that make me happy

  • a good hair day
  • a good night’s sleep
  • airports
  • baking
  • big cities
  • changing seasons
  • Christmas music
  • clever puns
  • conversations that go way beyond small-talk
  • cooking
  • courteous people
  • eating fresh fruit
  • fresh bed sheets
  • friendly dogs
  • frozen yoghurt with all the toppings
  • gifts
  • going out for coffee with friends
  • hearing my favourite songs on the radio
  • hot beverages in over-sized mugs
  • hugs
  • inside jokes
  • laughter
  • learning something new
  • libraries
  • memories of childhood escapades
  • mountains
  • Olive Garden
  • paintings by pro and amateur artists
  • passionate people
  • prayer
  • puffy clouds
  • purple
  • rainy days
  • road trips
  • s’mores
  • sincere compliments
  • snow
  • sunsets
  • texts from distant friends
  • walks down country roads
  • warm, dry socks after getting my feet wet
  • well-written literature

 

Looking at my little list, I see there’s really no reason for me to be discontented. Sometimes it’s easy to dwell on what’s messed up and imperfect, but I choose to focus on the good and the beautiful. I enjoy of lot of these blessings on a daily basis, others weekly or yearly. And this is by no means an exhaustive list. I could add another hundred blessings without breaking a sweat. God is good and I am thankful.

 

And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Phil. 4:8 NLT

 

3 thoughts on “Things that make me happy

  1. I find that having a “happy list” is a real mood booster. Reading through it is enough to make me smile, feel better, feel grateful and, I always come up with more things to add 🙂 The bonus is I almost always find something I could do or indulge in that very moment and voila! the blues are gone 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

